· · · ·

Africa Security Update — October 10, 2026

Africa security update for Oct 10, 2026: Ethiopia and Eritrea trade accusations at the UN, an RSF drone strike kills 41 in Blue Nile, and Mali retakes Kidal.

NASA satellite image of the Horn of Africa: Somalia's coast, the Gulf of Aden and the Ethiopian highlands
Image: NASA MODIS Land Rapid Response Team, Horn of Africa, Sept. 26, 2025 (public domain, via Wikimedia Commons)

Key Takeaways6 things to know

  1. Ethiopia told the Security Council that Eritrea made an “all-out invasion” up to 60 km into Tigray, and Eritrea asked the council on October 10 for “deterrent measures.”[14]
  2. UN Secretary-General António Guterres urged all sides to stop fighting and return to the 2022 Pretoria Agreement framework.[15]
  3. The RSF drone strike on a displacement camp at Abu Shandi, Blue Nile, killed 41 people, according to a rights group; the regional government counted 30.[16]
  4. The Security Council renewed Sudan sanctions only until December 11 after a nationwide arms embargo failed to win consensus.[17]
  5. Mali’s army entered Kidal on October 6 after separatists announced a withdrawal.[18]
  6. Nigeria’s military said it killed more than 25 ISWAP fighters at Kukawa, while unnamed military sources put army deaths at eight.[19]
Report detailsCoverage Oct 9, ~7:30 AM ET to Oct 10, ~1:30 PM ETDetails

Ethiopia and Eritrea trade accusations at the UN, an RSF drone strike kills 41 in Blue Nile, and Mali retakes Kidal.

  • Coverage window: Oct 9, 2026, ~7:30 AM ET to Oct 10, 2026, ~1:30 PM ET; dated context from Sept 29 to Oct 8 is marked in the text
  • Style: Rev. 3
  • Notes: one numbered footnote per sentence; outlets are named only in footnotes; Addis Ababa, Asmara and Mogadishu are ET+7; Khartoum is ET+6; Kinshasa and Lagos are ET+5; Bamako is ET+4; facts are tagged confirmed, reported or assessed in the footnotes; claims by parties to a conflict are attributed and tagged reported; Analysis, Key Takeaways, the closing Domestic Affairs judgment and What to Watch are assessed. Sources opened first: war.gov News and AFRICOM, then UN bodies, then Tier B outlets and Africa-based press.

Horn of Africa

Ethiopian Foreign Minister Gedion Timothewos wrote in a letter dated October 8 that Eritrea’s invasion of northern Ethiopia was “a blatant act of aggression that engages Ethiopia’s inherent right to self-defence.”[20] Eritrean Information Minister Yemane Gebremeskel rejected the claim, writing on X that Ethiopia has pursued “an unprovoked war of aggression” against Eritrea.[21] He did not explicitly confirm or deny the reported troop crossings.[22]

On October 10 Eritrean Foreign Minister Osman Saleh asked the council in a letter to condemn Ethiopia’s “declaration of war” and invoked Chapter VII of the UN Charter.[23] Ethiopian drone strikes reportedly hit Eritrean forces in Adigrat on October 7 and 8, and a US-based conflict monitor said Eritrean troops and ammunition were hit.[24]

Fighting renewed on September 23 between Ethiopian forces and a seven-group armed alliance that includes the TPLF.[25] Ethiopia’s army has pushed the TPLF back and seized the regional capital, Mekelle, according to the same wire reports.[26] The UN says hostilities are displacing people across central, northwestern and eastern Tigray, and that a return program for displaced people in Amhara was suspended at Kobo.[27]

Sudan

The RSF drone attack on October 9 struck a shelter for displaced people at Abu Shandi, in Blue Nile’s Wad El Mahi locality, and the rights group Emergency Lawyers said 41 people died.[28] The regional government said 30 civilians were killed and held the RSF responsible.[29] The UN humanitarian office said it was “appalled” and that initial reports suggested most casualties were women and children.[30]

The Sudanese army’s Fourth Infantry Division said it repelled an RSF and SPLM-N attack at Umm Darfa, in eastern Blue Nile.[31] On October 8 the Security Council unanimously renewed the Sudan sanctions regime until December 11, and its panel of experts until January 11, 2027.[32]

Sahel and Nigeria

On October 6 Mali’s transitional government said troops had “consolidated their positions” in Kidal, “supported by their Russian partners.”[33] The Azawad Liberation Front said it made a “strategic and controlled withdrawal,” and, according to the groups that held the city, the army entered without a fight.[34]

Nigeria’s military said ISWAP attacked the 101 Special Forces Battalion at Kukawa, Borno State, on October 6 from four directions, and that more than 25 attackers died, with 14 bodies recovered.[35] The army did not disclose its own losses, but military sources said eight soldiers were killed.[36] No verified reports on Burkina Faso, Niger, Libya or Mozambique appeared in the sources opened for this window.[37]

Somalia

Somalia’s intelligence agency said on October 6 that senior al-Shabaab figure Bashir Ahmed Haji Nunow was killed on October 1 at Jilib, working with “international partners.”[38] AFRICOM said it struck al-Shabaab near Welmaro and Ali Farhan on September 25.[39]

Democratic Republic of the Congo

The head of the UN mission in the DRC told the Security Council on September 29 that fighting between M23 and Congolese forces continues, with heavy weapons and drones in use.[40] Pro-government forces reportedly took the mining town of Numbi on October 6, and M23 reportedly retook it on October 7.[41]

Domestic Affairs

Ethiopia closed its embassy in Asmara and ordered 10 Eritrean diplomats to leave before Eritrea severed ties.[42] Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed repeated on October 5 that Ethiopia must have access to the Red Sea.[43]

In Somalia, the Northeastern Regional State ordered on October 4 that airlines need ministry approval to carry weapons or troops.[44]

Ethiopia and Sudan both face armed alliances at home while pressing sovereignty claims at the UN, which makes council diplomacy part of the contest.[45]

War Crimes and Civilian Harm

Allegations are attributed; findings are not established unless stated.

The Abu Shandi strike is alleged: Emergency Lawyers called for an independent, transparent investigation, and the regional government named the RSF.[46] The UN has warned that some drone attacks in Sudan may amount to war crimes; this is a warning, not a finding on any single attack.[47] An aerial attack on October 3 killed a driver of a World Food Programme-contracted truck in South Kordofan, and the source names no perpetrator.[48]

In the DRC, the UN mission has documented 1,537 abuses since its previous briefing.[49] Wazalendo fighters reportedly burned houses and shops and looted livestock at Shanje, reported without independent verification.[50] In Borno, about 44 children abducted from Mussa in May remain missing, according to the state government; the suspects are described as rebel fighters.[51] There are no verified casualty reports from the Adigrat strikes.[52]

Statements by Military Leaders

Gebreigziabher Beyene, commander of the pro-government Tigray Peace Force, said, “The Eritrean army has entered Tigray in uniform, equipped with heavy weaponry.”[53] Mohammed Goni, spokesman for Operation Hadin Kai, said troops responded to the Kukawa attack with air support and that further operations were under way.[54] AFRICOM said it “continues to take action to degrade al-Shabaab’s ability to threaten U.S. forces and our citizens abroad.”[55]

What to Watch (Assessment)

Watch whether the Security Council meets on the Ethiopian and Eritrean letters and whether verified casualty figures emerge from Adigrat.[56] Watch whether the African Union facilitators reach Kinshasa by mid-October, as reported, and whether the Numbi fighting widens.[57]

Six lenses

Analysis

This Africa security update for October 10, 2026 centers on the Horn of Africa, where Ethiopia and Eritrea sent rival letters to the UN Security Council while Ethiopia’s army holds Tigray’s capital, Mekelle.[1]

Geography

Ethiopia says Eritrean troops are up to 60 km inside Tigray, in the border zone where Ethiopia’s demand for Red Sea access meets Eritrea’s port of Assab.[2] Sudan’s war has reached the Ethiopian frontier, where the Blue Nile drone strike hit a camp for displaced people.[3]

Military

Drones now set the pace in three theaters: Ethiopian strikes on Eritrean columns, RSF strikes in Sudan, and the air campaign that preceded Mali’s return to Kidal.[4] Somalia’s claim of a senior al-Shabaab kill remains unconfirmed by the group or the United States.[5]

Alliances

Ethiopia accuses Eritrea, Egypt and Sudan of backing the armed alliance it faces, and all three deny it.[6] A US bid for a Sudan-wide arms embargo failed to win consensus, with Russia and China reported opposed.[7]

Economics

A South Kivu civil-society briefer told the Security Council that taxed coltan, cassiterite and gold ore finance armed groups.[8] WHO says only 23 percent of its $97.7 million 2026 humanitarian appeal for Sudan is funded.[9]

Technology

UN-appointed investigators found last month that foreign companies and recruitment networks are supplying Sudan’s warring parties with drones, weapons and training.[10] Mali’s separatists blamed Russia’s Africa Corps for a “disproportionate use of aerial assets” before Kidal fell.[11]

Power

Ethiopia insists on sea access, and a war between Ethiopia and Eritrea would give Washington a new Red Sea crisis to manage.[12] AFRICOM’s newest strike release shows US strikes continuing in Somalia’s Jilib area.[13]

Analysis by Peter’s World. Numbered notes link to the footnotes at the end of this report.

Additional sources

Footnotes

  1. [1] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Ethiopian and Eritrean letters to the council (see Horn of Africa).
  2. [2] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Ethiopian foreign minister’s letter and Eritrean information minister’s remarks (see Horn of Africa).
  3. [3] BBC News, “Drone strike by Sudan paramilitary kills 41 near Ethiopian border, rights group says”, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8vgx9ew571wo. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 10:49 AM ET (14:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Blue Nile strike report (see Sudan).
  4. [4] BBC News, “Ethiopia warns Eritrea it will defend itself after troops enter Tigray”, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c65ynvw250y1o. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 9:31 AM ET (13:31 UTC); updated 11:24 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Adigrat strikes, Blue Nile strike and Kidal reports (see sections below).
  5. [5] FDD’s Long War Journal, “Somalia claims to have killed another senior Shabaab leader”, https://www.longwarjournal.org/archives/2026/10/somalia-claims-to-have-killed-another-senior-shabaab. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 10:55 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Somali intelligence statement of October 6 (see Somalia).
  6. [6] Al Jazeera (Reuters), “Witnesses spot Eritrean troops inside northern Ethiopia as tensions flare”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/7/witnesses-spot-eritrean-troops-inside-northern-ethiopia-as-tensions-flare. Published: Oct 7, 2026, 2:43 PM ET (18:43 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Ethiopian accusation and denials (see Horn of Africa).
  7. [7] The Defense Post, “UN Renews Darfur Arms Embargo as Sudan-Wide Expansion Stalls”, https://thedefensepost.com/2026/10/09/un-darfur-arms-embargo/. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 9:35 AM ET (13:35 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Security Council rollover of October 8 (see Sudan).
  8. [8] UN Meetings Coverage (Security Council), “Commitments Must Yield Tangible Progress in Democratic Republic of Congo, Special Representative Tells Security Council”, https://press.un.org/en/2026/sc16467.doc.htm. Published: Sep 29, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Council briefing of September 29 (see Democratic Republic of the Congo).
  9. [9] UN News, “Darfur: Healthcare needs outstrip resources as Security Council extends Sudan sanctions”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168556. Published: Oct 8, 2026, 3:35 PM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: WHO figure (see Sudan).
  10. [10] The Defense Post, “UN Renews Darfur Arms Embargo as Sudan-Wide Expansion Stalls”, https://thedefensepost.com/2026/10/09/un-darfur-arms-embargo/. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 9:35 AM ET (13:35 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: UN investigators’ findings as relayed (see War Crimes and Civilian Harm).
  11. [11] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Mali’s army says it has taken Kidal from Tuareg rebels, with Russia’s help”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/6/tuareg-rebels-withdraw-from-strategic-town-of-kidal-in-northern-mali. Published: Oct 6, 2026, 1:46 PM ET (17:46 UTC); updated Oct 7, 12:38 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: FLA statement of October 6 (see Sahel and Nigeria).
  12. [12] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Ethiopia’s Red Sea access claim and Eritrea’s Chapter VII request (see Horn of Africa).
  13. [13] U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM), “U.S. Forces Conduct Strikes Targeting al-Shabaab”, https://www.africom.mil/pressrelease/36992/us-forces-conduct-strikes-targeting-al-shabaab. Published: Sep 30, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: AFRICOM release dated September 30 (see Somalia).
Show 44 more sources
  1. [14] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; party claims by Ethiopia and Eritrea.
  2. [15] UN News, “UN chief ‘gravely concerned’ by renewed fighting in northern Ethiopia, warns against escalation”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168570. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 8:51 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  3. [16] BBC News, “Drone strike by Sudan paramilitary kills 41 near Ethiopian border, rights group says”, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8vgx9ew571wo. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 10:49 AM ET (14:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; Emergency Lawyers count; regional government count reported separately.
  4. [17] UN News, “Darfur: Healthcare needs outstrip resources as Security Council extends Sudan sanctions”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168556. Published: Oct 8, 2026, 3:35 PM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  5. [18] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Mali’s army says it has taken Kidal from Tuareg rebels, with Russia’s help”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/6/tuareg-rebels-withdraw-from-strategic-town-of-kidal-in-northern-mali. Published: Oct 6, 2026, 1:46 PM ET (17:46 UTC); updated Oct 7, 12:38 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; Malian government and FLA accounts differ on how it happened.
  6. [19] Sahara Reporters, “BREAKING: Eight Soldiers Killed In Terrorist Attack On Borno Base As Troops Kill Over 25 Insurgents In Counterattack”, https://saharareporters.com/2026/10/08/breaking-eight-soldiers-killed-terrorist-attack-borno-base-troops-kill-over-25. Published: Oct 8, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; Nigerian military statement and unnamed military sources.
  7. [20] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Ethiopia and Eritrea accuse one another of launching war”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/9/ethiopia-and-eritrea-accuse-one-another-of-launching-war. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 10:11 AM ET (14:11 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; party claim in a letter shared with news agencies.
  8. [21] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Ethiopia and Eritrea accuse one another of launching war”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/9/ethiopia-and-eritrea-accuse-one-another-of-launching-war. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 10:11 AM ET (14:11 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; party claim.
  9. [22] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  10. [23] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; party claim in a letter to the council.
  11. [24] BBC News, “Ethiopia warns Eritrea it will defend itself after troops enter Tigray”, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c65ynvw250y1o. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 9:31 AM ET (13:31 UTC); updated 11:24 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; witness accounts and conflict-monitor statement; no verified casualties.
  12. [25] Al Jazeera (Reuters), “Witnesses spot Eritrean troops inside northern Ethiopia as tensions flare”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/7/witnesses-spot-eritrean-troops-inside-northern-ethiopia-as-tensions-flare. Published: Oct 7, 2026, 2:43 PM ET (18:43 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; Reuters account; Ethiopia says Eritrea backs the alliance, which Eritrea denies.
  13. [26] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Ethiopia and Eritrea accuse one another of launching war”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/9/ethiopia-and-eritrea-accuse-one-another-of-launching-war. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 10:11 AM ET (14:11 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; AFP and Reuters accounts.
  14. [27] UN News, “UN chief ‘gravely concerned’ by renewed fighting in northern Ethiopia, warns against escalation”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168570. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 8:51 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  15. [28] BBC News, “Drone strike by Sudan paramilitary kills 41 near Ethiopian border, rights group says”, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8vgx9ew571wo. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 10:49 AM ET (14:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; rights-group count.
  16. [29] Radio Dabanga, “Drone strikes and deadly explosions kill scores of civilians across Sudan”, https://www.dabangasudan.org/en/all-news/article/drone-strikes-and-deadly-explosions-kill-scores-of-civilians-across-sudan. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 12:49 PM ET (16:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; regional government claim.
  17. [30] BBC News, “Drone strike by Sudan paramilitary kills 41 near Ethiopian border, rights group says”, https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8vgx9ew571wo. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 10:49 AM ET (14:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  18. [31] Radio Dabanga, “Drone strikes and deadly explosions kill scores of civilians across Sudan”, https://www.dabangasudan.org/en/all-news/article/drone-strikes-and-deadly-explosions-kill-scores-of-civilians-across-sudan. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 12:49 PM ET (16:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; SAF claim.
  19. [32] UN News, “Darfur: Healthcare needs outstrip resources as Security Council extends Sudan sanctions”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168556. Published: Oct 8, 2026, 3:35 PM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  20. [33] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Mali’s army says it has taken Kidal from Tuareg rebels, with Russia’s help”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/6/tuareg-rebels-withdraw-from-strategic-town-of-kidal-in-northern-mali. Published: Oct 6, 2026, 1:46 PM ET (17:46 UTC); updated Oct 7, 12:38 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; government statement; context before the window.
  21. [34] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Mali’s army says it has taken Kidal from Tuareg rebels, with Russia’s help”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/6/tuareg-rebels-withdraw-from-strategic-town-of-kidal-in-northern-mali. Published: Oct 6, 2026, 1:46 PM ET (17:46 UTC); updated Oct 7, 12:38 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; FLA claim.
  22. [35] Xinhua (Chinese state media), “Nigerian troops kill over 25 ISWAP terrorists in counter-offensive”, https://english.news.cn/20261008/c9bd9a377f9e4fc0962c7f1d307545f1/c.html. Published: Oct 7, 2026, 1:05 PM ET (Oct 8, 01:05 Beijing). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; Nigerian military statement relayed by Chinese state media.
  23. [36] Sahara Reporters, “BREAKING: Eight Soldiers Killed In Terrorist Attack On Borno Base As Troops Kill Over 25 Insurgents In Counterattack”, https://saharareporters.com/2026/10/08/breaking-eight-soldiers-killed-terrorist-attack-borno-base-troops-kill-over-25. Published: Oct 8, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; unnamed military sources.
  24. [37] Critical Threats (CTP), “Africa File (listing page; newest edition ‘Ethiopian Counteroffensive into Tigray; Internal Tensions Within M23’, Oct 1, 2026)”, https://www.criticalthreats.org/analysis/africa-file. Published: Checked Oct 10, 2026; newest edition Oct 1, 2026. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: check of the latest Africa File listing.
  25. [38] FDD’s Long War Journal, “Somalia claims to have killed another senior Shabaab leader”, https://www.longwarjournal.org/archives/2026/10/somalia-claims-to-have-killed-another-senior-shabaab. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 10:55 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; NISA claim; al-Shabaab has not commented and the US has not confirmed a strike.
  26. [39] U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM), “U.S. Forces Conduct Strikes Targeting al-Shabaab”, https://www.africom.mil/pressrelease/36992/us-forces-conduct-strikes-targeting-al-shabaab. Published: Sep 30, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  27. [40] UN Meetings Coverage (Security Council), “Commitments Must Yield Tangible Progress in Democratic Republic of Congo, Special Representative Tells Security Council”, https://press.un.org/en/2026/sc16467.doc.htm. Published: Sep 29, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; UN official’s briefing; context before the window.
  28. [41] Critical Threats (CTP), “Congo War Security Review, October 7, 2026”, https://www.criticalthreats.org/briefs/congo-war-security-review/october-7-2026. Published: Oct 7, 2026 (data cutoff 1 PM as printed). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; reports from both sides; CTP could not independently verify all.
  29. [42] Al Jazeera (AFP and Reuters), “Ethiopia and Eritrea accuse one another of launching war”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/9/ethiopia-and-eritrea-accuse-one-another-of-launching-war. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 10:11 AM ET (14:11 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  30. [43] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  31. [44] Hiiraan Online, “Northeastern State warns airlines against carrying weapons or troops without approval”, https://hiiraan.com/security4/2026/Oct/206489/northeastern_state_warns_airlines_against_carrying_weapons_or_troops_with.aspx. Published: Oct 10, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; regional government order.
  32. [45] UN News, “Darfur: Healthcare needs outstrip resources as Security Council extends Sudan sanctions”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168556. Published: Oct 8, 2026, 3:35 PM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: Ethiopian and Sudanese positions at the council.
  33. [46] Radio Dabanga, “Drone strikes and deadly explosions kill scores of civilians across Sudan”, https://www.dabangasudan.org/en/all-news/article/drone-strikes-and-deadly-explosions-kill-scores-of-civilians-across-sudan. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 12:49 PM ET (16:49 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; allegation by a rights group and a regional government; the RSF response was not found.
  34. [47] The Defense Post, “UN Renews Darfur Arms Embargo as Sudan-Wide Expansion Stalls”, https://thedefensepost.com/2026/10/09/un-darfur-arms-embargo/. Published: Oct 9, 2026, 9:35 AM ET (13:35 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; UN warning as relayed.
  35. [48] UN News, “Darfur: Healthcare needs outstrip resources as Security Council extends Sudan sanctions”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168556. Published: Oct 8, 2026, 3:35 PM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; UN account; perpetrator not named.
  36. [49] UN Meetings Coverage (Security Council), “Commitments Must Yield Tangible Progress in Democratic Republic of Congo, Special Representative Tells Security Council”, https://press.un.org/en/2026/sc16467.doc.htm. Published: Sep 29, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; UN documentation; context before the window.
  37. [50] Critical Threats (CTP), “Congo War Security Review, October 7, 2026”, https://www.criticalthreats.org/briefs/congo-war-security-review/october-7-2026. Published: Oct 7, 2026 (data cutoff 1 PM as printed). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; alleged; unverified.
  38. [51] Al Jazeera, “How kidnappings are hitting Nigeria’s Borno families hard”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/8/how-kidnappings-are-hitting-nigerias-borno-families-hard. Published: Oct 7, 2026, 8:47 PM ET (Oct 8, 00:47 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Reported; state government figure; alleged.
  39. [52] UN News, “UN chief ‘gravely concerned’ by renewed fighting in northern Ethiopia, warns against escalation”, https://news.un.org/en/story/2026/10/1168570. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 8:51 AM ET. Retrieved: 2026-10-10.
  40. [53] Al Jazeera (Reuters), “Witnesses spot Eritrean troops inside northern Ethiopia as tensions flare”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/7/witnesses-spot-eritrean-troops-inside-northern-ethiopia-as-tensions-flare. Published: Oct 7, 2026, 2:43 PM ET (18:43 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Statement made Oct 7, 2026, time not shown; published 2:43 PM ET; translation not stated.
  41. [54] Xinhua (Chinese state media), “Nigerian troops kill over 25 ISWAP terrorists in counter-offensive”, https://english.news.cn/20261008/c9bd9a377f9e4fc0962c7f1d307545f1/c.html. Published: Oct 7, 2026, 1:05 PM ET (Oct 8, 01:05 Beijing). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Statement made Oct 7, 2026, time not shown; published 1:05 PM ET; paraphrased by the source.
  42. [55] U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM), “U.S. Forces Conduct Strikes Targeting al-Shabaab”, https://www.africom.mil/pressrelease/36992/us-forces-conduct-strikes-targeting-al-shabaab. Published: Sep 30, 2026 (time not shown). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Statement released Sep 30, 2026, time not shown.
  43. [56] Al Jazeera (AFP and AP), “Eritrea urges UN to intervene in standoff with Ethiopia”, https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2026/10/10/eritrea-urges-un-to-intervene-in-standoff-with. Published: Oct 10, 2026, 12:41 PM ET (16:41 UTC). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: letters of October 8 and 10.
  44. [57] Critical Threats (CTP), “Congo War Security Review, October 7, 2026”, https://www.criticalthreats.org/briefs/congo-war-security-review/october-7-2026. Published: Oct 7, 2026 (data cutoff 1 PM as printed). Retrieved: 2026-10-10. Note: Assessment (this update). Basis: CTP report of the facilitators’ regional tour.

Sources

Related coverage

More from the War Room today

Recommended articles