As of Oct 12, 2026. Every figure below names its source and date. Where sides give different numbers, they are shown side by side. Estimates are labeled. Claims by a party to the war are marked as claims.
This tracker follows the war that began when the United States and Israel struck Iran on February 28, 2026, under the US code name Operation Epic Fury. It covers deaths and injuries on every side, what the war has cost the United States, where it stands now, and a searchable database of reported attacks, including linked fronts in the Strait of Hormuz, Lebanon, Yemen and Saudi Arabia.
Key numbers
Source
Pentagon DCAS count, updated Oct 10, 2026: 15 killed and 417 wounded in Operation Epic Fury; 6 killed and 448 wounded in overseas operations since July 7. Stars and Stripes, Pentagon raises official death toll to 21 (Oct 10, 2026); The Hill, Pentagon updates death toll to 21 (Oct 10, 2026)Source
Iran's Foundation of Martyrs 3,468; HRANA 3,636 to April 7 plus 48 from July 8–17; US and Israeli estimates 6,000 or more. No single count is authoritative. GlobalSecurity.org, Iran War 2026 Day 218 update (Oct 3, 2026); Wikipedia, Casualties of the 2026 Iran war (compilation; checked Oct 12, 2026)Source
Lebanese health ministry figure issued Sept 25, 2026; it does not separate civilians from fighters. Anadolu Agency, Lebanon health ministry toll since March 2Source
CBO: about $38 billion through Aug 1. CENTCOM cost update: $43.6 billion as of Sept 3. Estimates, not audited totals. Congressional Budget Office letter, Estimating the Cost of Combat Operations Against Iran (Sept 2026); Inside Defense, Pentagon estimates $43.6B (Sept 21, 2026)Source
CENTCOM commander Adm. Brad Cooper's May testimony, as reported by the Lead Inspector General. Covers the major combat period. Lead Inspector General, Operation Epic Fury report to Congress, Apr 1-Jun 30, 2026Source
Trump called the truce over on July 7; Iran suspended its memorandum commitments on July 18. Talks continue through mediators. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026); The Jerusalem Post (Reuters), Iran calls US Hormuz reply insufficient (Oct 11, 2026)Current status
As of Oct 12, 2026, there is no ceasefire between the United States and Iran, but large-scale US strikes on Iran are paused. The fighting has shifted to shipping, the US blockade and linked fronts.
Casualties by side
Reported deaths by country or group
| Side | Figure | According to | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Iran | 3,468 | Foundation of Martyrs (Iranian state body) | standing figure | GlobalSecurity.org, Iran War 2026 Day 218 update (Oct 3, 2026) |
| 3,636 (1,701 civilians, 1,221 military, 714 unclassified) + 48 (Jul 8–17) | HRANA (US-based rights group) | Apr 7 / Jul 17 | Wikipedia, Casualties of the 2026 Iran war (compilation; checked Oct 12, 2026) | |
| 2,362+ civilians killed; 32,314+ injured | Iran Ministry of Health | standing figure | GlobalSecurity.org, Iran War 2026 Day 218 update (Oct 3, 2026) | |
| 4,700+ security personnel | Iran International | standing figure | GlobalSecurity.org, Iran War 2026 Day 218 update (Oct 3, 2026) | |
| 6,000+ | US and Israeli estimates | standing figure | GlobalSecurity.org, Iran War 2026 Day 218 update (Oct 3, 2026) | |
| Lebanon | 4,386 killed; 12,413 injured | Lebanese health ministry | Sept 25 | Anadolu Agency, Lebanon health ministry toll since March 2 |
| 2,500 (fighters) | Israel Defense Forces (claim) | compiled | Wikipedia, Casualties of the 2026 Iran war (compilation; checked Oct 12, 2026) | |
| Israel | 72 killed; 7,841 injured | Compilation of Israeli official figures | Aug 5 | Wikipedia, Casualties of the 2026 Iran war (compilation; checked Oct 12, 2026) |
| 32+ IDF personnel killed since March 2 | GlobalSecurity.org compilation | Oct 3 | GlobalSecurity.org, Iran War 2026 Day 218 update (Oct 3, 2026) | |
| Gulf states | UAE 16, Oman 16, Kuwait 12, Bahrain 2–3, Saudi Arabia 3, Qatar 1 (up to 51) | Compilation of national figures (Iranian strikes) | compiled | Wikipedia, Casualties of the 2026 Iran war (compilation; checked Oct 12, 2026) |
| Separate: at least 20 killed at Saudi airports in the week to Oct 11 (Houthi strikes) | CBS News tally | Oct 12 | CBS News live updates (Oct 12, 2026) | |
| United States | 21 killed; 865 wounded | Pentagon DCAS | Oct 10 | Stars and Stripes, Pentagon raises official death toll to 21 (Oct 10, 2026) |
| At least 22 military fatalities at a time the Pentagon said 19 | The Washington Post (anonymous sources), Sept 18; Hegseth called it "a complete lie" | Sept 18 | Military.com, Pentagon updates protocols tracking Iran war deaths |
US military casualties (Pentagon DCAS, Oct 10)
Deaths in database entries, by front
What the war costs
These are estimates of the US Defense Department’s added costs. None is an audited total, and none includes damage to US bases. The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) puts the figure near $38 billion through August 1 and expects $2 billion to $3 billion more each month the operations continue.
CBO estimate by category ($ billions, through Aug 1)
Cost estimates over time ($ billions)
| Estimate by | Amount | Date | What it covers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoW (via Inspector General) | $33.4B | as of June 29 | $7.4B obligations, $22.3B expended munitions, $3.7B equipment losses; excludes infrastructure repairs | Lead Inspector General, Operation Epic Fury report to Congress, Apr 1-Jun 30, 2026 |
| Hegseth testimony to Senate Armed Services | $37.5B | projected through September | Statement of July 22, as summarized by CBO | Congressional Budget Office letter, Estimating the Cost of Combat Operations Against Iran (Sept 2026) |
| Congressional Budget Office | $38.1B | as of Aug 1 | Five categories (chart); ongoing $2B per month at May–June intensity, $3B at July intensity | Congressional Budget Office letter, Estimating the Cost of Combat Operations Against Iran (Sept 2026) |
| CENTCOM cost update | $43.6B | as of Sept 3 | $11.2B obligated for operations plus $32.4B to replenish munitions and replace equipment | Inside Defense, Pentagon estimates $43.6B (Sept 21, 2026) |
| State Department | $113M | as of June 2 | Includes $79.2M for contingencies such as evacuations | Lead Inspector General, Operation Epic Fury report to Congress, Apr 1-Jun 30, 2026 |
Operations, shipping and oil
| Metric | Figure | Context | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Strikes in first 12 hours (Feb 28) | ~900 | US and Israeli forces | Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| US forces deployed to CENTCOM area | 50,000+ | Operation Epic Fury | Lead Inspector General, Operation Epic Fury report to Congress, Apr 1-Jun 30, 2026 |
| Ships turned around by the US blockade | 135 | since July 14, per CENTCOM (Oct 10) | U.S. Central Command, U.S. Forces Disable Cargo Vessel Attempting to Violate Blockade (Oct 10, 2026) |
| Commercial vessels disabled by US forces | 4 | since July 14, per CENTCOM (Oct 10) | U.S. Central Command, U.S. Forces Disable Cargo Vessel Attempting to Violate Blockade (Oct 10, 2026) |
| IRGC-linked tankers destroyed | 10 (CENTCOM, Oct 10) / 13 vessels (CENTCOM, Oct 5) | the two releases count differently | U.S. Central Command, U.S. Forces Disable Cargo Vessel Attempting to Violate Blockade (Oct 10, 2026) |
| Ships struck in or near Hormuz, Oct 1–10 | 11 | tally from IMO and UK maritime data | Fox News live, tally of ships struck (Oct 10, 2026) |
| Oil price (Brent) | $105+ | Oct 12; about $70 before the war | CBS News live updates (Oct 12, 2026) |
| USS Abraham Lincoln: Tomahawks launched / Iranian warships sunk | 450 / 64 | Hegseth, Oct 7 (US claim) | U.S. Department of War, Hegseth aboard USS Abraham Lincoln (Oct 2026) |
Attack database
The database lists 47 reported attacks and strike waves: 37 confirmed, 6 claimed by one side only and 4 disputed. It includes the war’s major strikes since February 28 and a fuller daily log from October 2, when the War Room began tracking each incident. Search or filter below, or download the data.
Database entries by month
Database entries by attacker
| Date | Front | Attacker | Target / location | Type | Killed | Injured | Status | Details and sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 12, 2026 | Yemen | Saudi-led coalition (Houthi claim) | Hamadan district and a house Sanaa, Yemen | Air strikes | 1 | 12 | claimed | Houthi-run health officials' figures; not confirmed by Riyadh. CBS News live updates (Oct 12, 2026) |
| Oct 12, 2026 | Gulf | Unclaimed | Tanker with 11 Indian crew Near Sohar anchorage, Oman | Drone | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Nine crew rescued, two missing, India's ports minister said. The Jerusalem Post (Reuters) |
| Oct 11, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis (claimed) | King Khalid International Airport, Terminal 4 Riyadh | Projectile | 1 | 11 | confirmed | A Pakistani resident killed, Saudi civil aviation said. Al-Monitor (Reuters) |
| Oct 11, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis (claimed) | King Fahd International Airport Dammam | Projectile | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Saudi civil aviation confirmed a strike; the Houthis also claimed hits on two Aramco sites, unconfirmed. Al-Monitor (Reuters) |
| Oct 10, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis (claimed) | King Khalid International Airport, Terminals 3–4 Riyadh | Missile | 12 | 309 | confirmed | Saudi authorities: 12 dead including one American; some later accounts say 13. Houthis claimed responsibility Oct 11. Asharq Al-Awsat; Al-Monitor |
| Oct 10, 2026 | Hormuz | US | M/V Ocean Molica (Arika Sun) Gulf of Oman | Precision munition (blockade enforcement) | 0 | 0 | confirmed | Propulsion disabled after the crew ignored warnings; no crew harmed, CENTCOM said. U.S. Central Command, U.S. Forces Disable Cargo Vessel Attempting to Violate Blockade (Oct 10, 2026) |
| Oct 10, 2026 | Hormuz | Unknown / IRGC (mine claim) | Outbound tanker Strait of Hormuz | Projectile or mine | 0 | n/r | disputed | UKMTO reported a projectile strike; IRGC claimed a supertanker hit a mine. Unconfirmed whether the same ship. UKMTO warning 162; Mehr (IRGC claim) |
| Oct 9, 2026 | Hormuz | IRGC Navy | LPG carrier "NV Sunshine" (IRGC name) / tanker GEM NO2 Southern lane; 13 nm W of Al Jazirah Al Hamra, UAE | Strike / projectile | n/r | n/r | disputed | IRGC claimed the strike; UKMTO reported a vessel hit off the UAE that a security firm named as GEM NO2. Unclear if one ship or two. Tasnim (IRGC claim); UKMTO warning 160 |
| Oct 8, 2026 | Yemen | Saudi-led coalition | 82 Houthi military targets Saada, Hudaydah, al-Jawf, Marib | Air strikes | n/r | n/r | claimed | Coalition said targets included 11 ballistic-missile storage sites. Arab News |
| Oct 8, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis | King Khalid International Airport (two attacks) Riyadh | Ballistic missiles | 3 | n/r | confirmed | Three Saudis killed, including Saudia Capt. Hamoud Ali al-Kalthami; a Saudia aircraft was hit. Al Arabiya |
| Oct 8, 2026 | Gulf | Unknown | Tanker (likely Dhalgout) 40 km off Fujairah, UAE | Fire (cause unclear) | n/r | n/r | disputed | Reported by a maritime intelligence firm; not recorded by UKMTO. Euronews |
| Oct 7, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis | King Khalid International Airport Riyadh | Missile/drone | 1 | 8 | confirmed | A Sudanese resident killed. Saudi Press Agency |
| Oct 7, 2026 | Yemen | Houthis | Aden International Airport Aden, Yemen | Ballistic missiles and drones | 0 | 0 | confirmed | A missile landed near the runway; no casualties reported. Al Jazeera |
| Oct 7, 2026 | Gulf | Unclaimed | Tanker Acers 51 nm north of Qatar | Three drones | 0 | 1 | confirmed | First confirmed attack inside the Gulf since Sept 9; one crew injury. UKMTO/JMIC Update 103 |
| Oct 6, 2026 | Hormuz | Unclaimed | Tanker On Peace (Panama-flagged) 9 nm off Limah, Oman | Projectile | 0 | 12 | confirmed | 12 of 19 crew injured, 11 of them Indian, India said. gCaptain; Al Jazeera |
| Oct 6, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis | Abha International Airport Abha, Saudi Arabia | Missile/drone | 2 | 28 | confirmed | Two foreign residents killed. Saudi Press Agency |
| Oct 5, 2026 | Hormuz | IRGC | Inbound tanker 11 nm north of Khasab, Oman | Threat (hail to turn back) | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Tanker complied after being told to turn back or be targeted. Al Arabiya (UKMTO) |
| Oct 5, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis | Jizan and Najran airports Saudi Arabia | Missiles/drones | 0 | 3 | confirmed | Saudi civil aviation reported three minor injuries. Saudi Press Agency |
| Oct 5, 2026 | Yemen | Saudi-led coalition | Houthi depots, explosive boats, mines Hudaydah, Yemen | Naval bombardment | n/r | n/r | confirmed | First Saudi naval bombardment of the conflict. Saudi Press Agency |
| Oct 4, 2026 | Hormuz | Unknown | Tanker (engine room) Strait of Hormuz | Projectile | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Engine room damaged. CNBC |
| Oct 4, 2026 | Hormuz | Unknown | MT Kazimah III (Kuwait-flagged) Strait of Hormuz | Projectile | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Five Indian crew brought ashore in Oman, the Indian Embassy said. Gulf News |
| Oct 4, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis | Aramco sites, Riyadh and Khurais Saudi Arabia | Ballistic missiles and drones | n/r | n/r | claimed | Houthi claim; no Saudi comment. A fire was reported near a Khurais pumping station. Anadolu; Critical Threats |
| Oct 3, 2026 | Saudi | Houthis | Aramco Riyadh refinery Riyadh, Saudi Arabia | Ballistic missiles and drones | n/r | n/r | disputed | Houthis claimed hits; the coalition called the claim misleading; analysts assessed the Houthis likely did attack. Al Jazeera; ISW |
| Oct 2, 2026 | Hormuz | IRGC Navy (assessed likely) | Two tankers Strait of Hormuz; 4 nm east of Oman | Projectiles | n/r | n/r | confirmed | ISW/CTP assessed the IRGC Navy likely carried out the attacks. ISW, Iran Update Oct 3 |
| ~Sep 2026 | Iran | US | Wedding Iran | Air strike | 5 | 70 | claimed | 74 congressional Democrats asked the Pentagon about a September strike on a wedding that killed five, including two children. Exact date not given. Democracy Now!, Pentagon raises count (Oct 12, 2026) |
| Sep 9, 2026 | Gulf | Unclaimed | Bunker tanker at anchor Off the UAE | Projectile | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Last attack on a merchant ship outside the strait before October 7. Seatrade Maritime |
| ~Sep 2026 | Hormuz | US | Larak Island outpost Strait of Hormuz, Iran | Strikes | n/r | n/r | confirmed | US said Iranian forces were trying to launch new mines from the island; Iran retaliated. Date approximate (days after late-August mine clearance). Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Jul 17, 2026 | Gulf | Not stated in source | US base Jordan | Strikes | 2 | n/r | confirmed | Two US service members killed. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Jul 7, 2026 | Iran | US | About 140 Iranian targets Iran | More than 300 strikes over a week | n/r | n/r | confirmed | US escalation after the ship attacks. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Jul 6, 2026 | Hormuz | IRGC | Three commercial ships on US-recommended route Strait of Hormuz, Omani coast | Anti-ship attacks | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Attacks on July 6–7 led Trump to declare the truce over. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Jun 7, 2026 | Israel | Iran | Israel Israel | Ballistic missiles | n/r | n/r | confirmed | First direct Iran-Israel exchange since April, after an Israeli strike on southern Beirut; Israel retaliated. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| May 4, 2026 | Hormuz | IRGC | US-escorted ships (Project Freedom) Strait of Hormuz | Missiles, drones, small boats | n/r | n/r | confirmed | CENTCOM said US forces defeated every threat and Apache helicopters destroyed Iranian attack boats. ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) |
| May 4, 2026 | Gulf | Iran | Oil infrastructure UAE | Strikes | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Iran struck multiple oil infrastructure targets in the UAE. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Apr 8, 2026 | Lebanon | Israel | Hezbollah and Lebanese areas Lebanon incl. Beirut | Air strikes | n/r | 1,000 | confirmed | Hours after the US-Iran ceasefire, an Israeli blitz killed hundreds and wounded more than 1,000. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Mar 28, 2026 | Israel | Houthis | Israel Israel | Missiles and drones | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Houthis opened a new front with launches toward Israel. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Mar 26, 2026 | Iran | Israel | IRGC Navy commander Alireza Tangsiri Iran | Air strike | n/r | n/r | claimed | IDF said Tangsiri and naval intelligence chief Behnam Rezaei were killed. ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) |
| Mar 17, 2026 | Iran | Not stated in source | Ali Larijani, SNSC secretary Iran | Strike | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Larijani, seen as de facto leader after Khamenei's death, was killed. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Mar 17, 2026 | Lebanon | Israel | Hezbollah Southern Lebanon | Ground incursion | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Limited Israeli ground invasion of southern Lebanon began. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Mar 12, 2026 | Hormuz | Iran (claimed one hit) | Three commercial ships Near Strait of Hormuz | Anti-ship attacks | n/r | n/r | claimed | Iran's military claimed it struck an oil tanker; three ships were attacked that day. ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) |
| Mar 8, 2026 | Gulf | Iran | Prince Sultan Air Base (US forces) Saudi Arabia | Missile/drone attack | 1 | n/r | confirmed | Sgt. Benjamin Pennington, 26, killed. JINSA, Operations Epic Fury and Roaring Lion update (May 5, 2026) |
| Mar 3, 2026 | Iran | Israel | Assembly of Experts building Iran | Air strike | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Building where the Assembly of Experts was expected to meet was destroyed, delaying selection of a new supreme leader. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Mar 2, 2026 | Lebanon | Hezbollah | Israel Northern Israel | Missiles and drones | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Hezbollah entered the war, prompting Israeli strikes as far as southern Beirut. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Mar 1, 2026 | Gulf | Iran | Port Shuaiba (US forces) Kuwait | Drone | 6 | n/r | confirmed | Six US service members killed in an Iranian drone attack. JINSA, Operations Epic Fury and Roaring Lion update (May 5, 2026); ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) |
| Mar 1, 2026 | Gulf | Iran | Dubai International Airport Dubai, UAE | Drones | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Drone strikes damaged one of the world's busiest airports, which halted all flights. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Feb 28, 2026 | Iran | US & Israel | Missile sites, air defenses, leadership Iran (nationwide) | Air and missile strikes | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Opening wave of Operation Epic Fury: nearly 900 strikes in 12 hours; Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei killed. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026); ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) |
| Feb 28, 2026 | Iran | US (per preliminary US military investigation) | Girls' school next to IRGC naval base Minab, Hormozgan, Iran | Missile strike | 170 | n/r | confirmed | About 170 killed when a missile struck a girls' school; a preliminary US military investigation indicated US forces conducted the strike. Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
| Feb 28, 2026 | Gulf | Iran | US bases, airports, civilian sites in seven Gulf states UAE, Qatar, Bahrain and others | Missiles and drones | n/r | n/r | confirmed | Iran retaliated across the Gulf, hitting airports in the UAE, residential areas in Qatar and an apartment building in Bahrain. ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026); Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) |
n/r = not reported. “Killed” and “injured” are the figures given in the cited source for that single attack.
Timeline of the war
- Jun 202512-Day War. Israel and Iran fight a 12-day war; US bombs Fordow, Natanz and Isfahan.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Jan 8, 2026Protest crackdown. Iranian security forces crack down on nationwide protests; Iran's Health Ministry officials put deaths at 30,000 or more, per Britannica.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Feb 28, 2026Operation Epic Fury begins. US and Israel strike Iran; Supreme Leader Ali Khamenei is killed in the first wave.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Mar 1, 2026US troops killed in Kuwait. An Iranian drone kills six US service members at Port Shuaiba.
JINSA, Operations Epic Fury and Roaring Lion update (May 5, 2026) - Mar 2, 2026Lebanon front opens. Hezbollah fires on Israel; Israel widens strikes and later invades southern Lebanon (March 17).
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Mar 8, 2026New supreme leader. Mojtaba Khamenei is named supreme leader.
ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) - Mar 21, 2026Hormuz ultimatum. Trump gives Iran 48 hours to reopen the strait or see power plants hit.
ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) - Apr 7, 2026Ceasefire. US and Iran agree a two-week ceasefire brokered by Pakistan; extended indefinitely on April 21.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Apr 11, 2026Islamabad talks fail. Vance-led talks with Iran end without agreement.
ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) - Apr 13, 2026US blockade begins. CENTCOM blockades shipping to and from Iranian ports.
Lead Inspector General, Operation Epic Fury report to Congress, Apr 1-Jun 30, 2026 - May 4, 2026Project Freedom. US escorts ships through Hormuz; IRGC attacks are repelled. Paused May 5.
ABC News, 4 phases of the Iran war (May 7, 2026) - May 5, 2026Epic Fury concludes. Britannica dates the end of Operation Epic Fury to May 5.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Jun 14, 2026Memorandum of understanding. Pakistan announces a US-Iran memorandum; signed June 17; US lifts the blockade.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Jul 7, 2026Truce declared over. After IRGC attacks on three ships, Trump says the truce is over; US hits about 140 targets in a week.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Jul 14, 2026Blockade reimposed. The US Navy reimposes the blockade of Iranian ports.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Jul 18, 2026Iran suspends memorandum. Iran says it is suspending its commitments under the memorandum.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Aug 2026Mines cleared. US military says it cleared all Iranian mines from international shipping lanes; strikes on Larak Island follow.
Britannica, 2026 Iran war (updated Oct 9, 2026) - Sep 8, 2026US strikes pause. Analysts date a pause in large-scale US strikes on Iran from Sept 8.
Critical Threats/ISW, Iran Update Oct 7, 2026 - Sep 28, 2026Worst week for tankers. At least 12 attacks on tankers around Hormuz from Sept 28 to Oct 6, the highest weekly total of the war.
Fox News live, tally of ships struck (Oct 10, 2026) - Oct 10, 2026Riyadh airport strike. A strike on Riyadh's main airport kills 12, including an American, Saudi authorities say; the Pentagon raises the US military death toll to 21.
Stars and Stripes, Pentagon raises official death toll to 21 (Oct 10, 2026); Asharq Al-Awsat - Oct 11, 2026Talks stall. Iran calls the US reply to its seven Hormuz conditions insufficient; mediator traffic continues.
The Jerusalem Post (Reuters), Iran calls US Hormuz reply insufficient (Oct 11, 2026)
Methodology and limits
Figures come first from official sources (Pentagon, CENTCOM, the State Department, the Congressional Budget Office and the Inspector General), then from Iranian, Israeli, Lebanese and Gulf government statements, each named, and then from research groups and wire reporting.
Show more: how the data is built and what is missing
- Competing counts. Iran’s death toll ranges from 3,468 (Foundation of Martyrs) to 6,000 or more (US and Israeli estimates). HRANA’s count largely reflects reports from urban areas, and HRANA says military deaths are likely higher.
- US deaths. The Pentagon count rose from 18 to 21 on Oct 10 after adding two noncombat deaths. A September Washington Post report, citing anonymous sources, said the true number was higher; the Pentagon disputed it.
- Costs. All cost figures are estimates and exclude base repairs. Iran, Israel and the Gulf states have not published comparable war-cost figures that we could verify, so they are not shown.
- Attack database. Before Oct 2, only major strikes are listed. Hundreds of missile, drone and air strikes in March and April are not logged one by one. Incidents with no named attacker are listed as unknown or unclaimed. Dates marked ~ are approximate.
- Linked fronts. Houthi strikes on Saudi Arabia and the Saudi-led campaign in Yemen are included because they are tied to the wider war, but their casualties are kept apart from the Iran figures.
- Updates. The tracker is rebuilt from a data file whenever new official figures appear.





